St. Joseph’s Cemetery is a well kept,veritable Who’s Who of Cork people (especially Catholics) in the mid- 1800s. It was opened in the 1830s but records only exist for it from 1878. A walk around this cemetery is fascinating for the genealogist. Names which are associated with many of the merchant families of the city appear on obelisk and headstone alike. The inner part of the cemetery is surrounded by a high wall (like a walled garden) and the monument to Fr. Matthew (the man who started the Temperance movement in Cork) is in the centre. The large outer section of the cemetery is cluttered in part with many headstones squeezed into a small area. St. Finbarr’s Cemetery, the other large Cork Cemetery, was opened in 1868, to relieve the stress on St. Joseph’s.
Below is a general map of St. Joseph’s Cemetery, showing the sections. [added November 2014]
Note (added 5th Dec. 2012) : St. Joseph’s 1877-1917 Burial Register online, thanks to the Cork City and County Archives. Hopefully more to follow. Also, St. Catherine’s, Kilcully burials from 1931-1974 are online as are others from Co.Cork. Check back often to the Cork and County Archives to see what has been added.
Note, the Cork County Library has some burial records in a folder for St. Joseph’s Cemetery. See below for the contents page to this file. [added Nov. 2014]
Ronayne Conron tomb and in the background a Gould monument.
On the Cork City Council’s website, it is stated that the Cork City Council manages four Municipal cemeteries:
St. Finbarr’s, Glasheen Road, Cork
St. Joseph’s, Tory Top Road, Ballyphehane, Cork
St. Catherine’s, Kilcully, Co. Cork
St. Michael’s and New, Blackrock, Cork (opened in 1957)