Lecture in Dublin on Tracing Your Irish Ancestors via DNA

I got this notice via APGI (Association of Professional Genealogists of Ireland)

LECTURE: Tracing Your Irish Ancestors via DNA Testing by Dr. Gianpiero Cavalleri
DATE and LOCATION: Tuesday, May 25 at 7:00pm Georgian Suite, Buswells Hotel, Molesworth Street, Dublin

Dr. Gianpiero L. Cavalleri, Director and Senior Scientist, of Italian parentage but born and raised in Ireland, is a population geneticist who trained with Prof Dan Bradley at Trinity College, Dublin before going on to work at Stanford with Prof Luca Cavalli-Sforza and Dr Peter Underhill. He is one of the founders of EthnoAncestry and is currently researching the genetics of epilepsy at the Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin, Ireland

This lecture is free and open to everyone. Please join us.

For more information contact Judy Lucey, jlucey@nehgs.org

The presentation is sponsored by The New England Historic Genealogical Society (Boston) as part of their research trip to Dublin. Special thanks is given to the Genealogical Society of Ireland for their assistance in organizing this event.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lecture in Dublin on Tracing Your Irish Ancestors via DNA

  1. Bill says:

    Is there any chance of obtaing a transcript of this lecture? I have a google alert for anything ‘DNA – Ancester’ related.
    Much aloha,
    Bill

  2. mjordan says:

    Hi Bill,

    I don’t know. I emailed Judy Lucey for more information on the lecture but I got an out of office reply. Apparently Judy is out of the office “through June 5th”. Her automated email response gives another contact name, email address and phone number.

    Margaret Jordan

  3. Susan says:

    I have done both the Mitochondrial DNA test and the Family Finder Test at Family Tree DNA.

    I am a member of FTDNA’s mtDNA-Ireland project. My result is very rare not only for Ireland but for much of Western Europe.

    The project summary page is here:
    http://www.familytreedna.com/public/Ireland – MtDNA

    There is also a Y-DNA project (which I am not in, since I am female):
    http://homepage.eircom.net/~ihdp/ihdp

    I do have one promising distant cousin match through Family Finder. We share Mahony and McCarthy in our GEDCOMs.

    Overall, I would say the Family Finder is the best test for genealogical purposes. It can test for shared strands of autosomal DNA – meaning any line of ancestry, not just pure matrilineal or patrilineal lines. FF can identify relatively recent kinship (up to, say, 5th cousins). The other tests, while interesting from a DNA archeological-historical perspective, are not usually as practical – though if I were allowed to run around Skibbereen with cheek swab kits and test everybody, it would be very interesting indeed to find somebody who matched my mtDNA profile! 🙂

    The Family Finder test is brand new, and the lab doesn’t have that many records yet, so I encourage serious genealogists to take it !

  4. Hayedeh says:

    Hi I am Persian but my mtDNA test showed my genetic cousins mostly are come from Ireland and west of England I was shocked, but my HVR1 results shows I have European Gene I dont know maybe is related to the Aryan Race that are Indo-European . the haplogroup is T

Comments are closed.