Genetic Genealogy – my personal update

Having been involved in using DNA or genetic genealogy (as it is termed these days) in family history for over 16 years, I haven’t blogged very much on the topic but I hope to change that in 2017!

As we approach the end of 2016, I am reflecting on the year I have had in genetic genealogy both as a voluntary administrator of DNA projects and my own personal genetic genealogy research.

On the former (DNA Projects), I am involved in voluntarily managing three projects. The biggest of these is the Ireland yDNA Project which has grown to well over 7000 members as we approach the 11th year of its existence. It keeps me busy and requires daily attention! Secondly, the O’Shea yDNA Project, which is over 13 years old,  has almost 200 members. Thirdly, the NW Co. Cork Family Finder Project is much newer and smaller with under 100 members. On yDNA, the SNP avalanche continues apace with new SNPs being added to the y-haplotree all the time. Genetic genealogy is a fast moving, exciting interest to have and I love keeping up with it online using message boards, Facebook Groups, videos, blog posts and research papers. Citizen scientists provide a huge amount of resources to the genetic genealogy  community for which I am very grateful.

On my own personal research, having already tested with Family Tree DNA and AncestryDNA, in 2016, I also decided to test with 23andMe. These three main testing companies combined with Gedmatch form the basis for my autosomal DNA analysis. Note, that Gedmatch.com is a free database which is provided by enthusiasts.  This site features very highly in my research. I have also uploaded my DNA data to DNA.LAND. I also utilize blogs,  websites and software freely provided by enthusiastic researchers. I also download statistical charts etc., which are kindly provided by genetic genealogy enthusiasts.

I will write another blog post soon, as a follow up to my blog post of 2014, where I shared the fact that I had successfully utilized genetic genealogy to identify my father’s paternal family. See Personal DNA Success Story, for details.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.